Reuters Sports Schedule At 0001 GMT On Wednesday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:


International friendlies

We will bring you all the latest team and injury news ahead of the international friendlies later this week as teams start the build-up to the World Cup in Russia, which starts in June. (SOCCER-FRIENDLY-TEAMA-TEAMB/ (PIX) expect throughout)

Denmark v Panama (1900)

With both sides having qualified for the World Cup finals in Russia, Denmark host Panama in a friendly encounter in Copenhagen. (SOCCER-FRIENDLY-DNK-PAN/ expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Phil O’Connor, 300 words)

Women’s league gaining foothold in US

Women’s professional soccer has long been a tough sell in the United States but the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is already in unchartered territory as it gets set to open its sixth season this weekend. (SOCCER-WOMEN/USA, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Frank Pingue, 550 words)


Australian Grand Prix, Melbourne (21)

Hamilton, Vettel kick off battle royale at Albert Park

MELBOURNE - World champion Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) and Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) speak at a news conference three days before the Australian Grand Prix - the opening race of the 2018 season. (MOTOR-F1-AUSTRALIA/ (TV) expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Ian Ransom, 500 words)


Miami Open (to 1)

Halep meets Keys in Miami

World number one Simona Halep battles U.S. Open finalist American Madison Keys while seventh-seeded Caroline Garcia of France faces American Alison Riske in second round action at the Miami Open. (TENNIS-MIAMI/WOMEN (PIX, TV), expect by 0200 GMT/10 PM ET, 350 words)

Shapovalov takes on Troicki in Miami

Eighteen-year-old Canadian Denis Shapovalov squares off against Serbian Viktor Triocki while Spaniard Guillermo Garcia Lopez battles American Tennys Sandgren in first round action at the Miami Open. (TENNIS-MIAMI/MEN (PIX, TV), expect by 0200 GMT/10 PM ET, 350 words)


PGA Tour: WGC-Dell Match Play, Austin (to 25)

Johnson and McIlroy try to bounce back

World number one Dustin Johnson and Rory McIlroy, who both lost their opening matches on Wednesday, seek to keep alive their hopes of advancing to the knockout phase as they face Adam Hadwin and Jhonattan Vegas at the WGC-Dell Match Play tournament at the Austin Country Club. (GOLF-MATCHPLAY/ (PIX, TV), expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, 400 words)

PGA Tour: Corales Puntacana Championship

Former National Football League quarterback Tony Romo adds some celebrity power to a field of journeymen and veterans as the PGA Tour heads Corales Golf Club in the Dominican Republic. (GOLF-CORALES/ (PIX) 300 words)


New Zealand v England, first test

Hosts in charge as England crumble

AUCKLAND - Tom Latham and Kane Williamson pushed New Zealand into a lead of 30 runs after England were bowled out for just 58 in the first test at Eden Park on Thursday. (CRICKET-TEST-NZL-ENG/, expect throughout, by Greg Stutchbury, 400 words)

South Africa v Australia, third test

CAPE TOWN - South Africa and Australia, level at 1-1, clash in the third test of what has been an acrimonious series. (CRICKET-TEST-ZAF-AUS/, expect throughout, by Nick Said, 400 words)


Red-hot Rockets take on Pistons

The Western Conference-leading Houston Rockets aim for their seventh straight win when they host the Detroit Pistons while the Los Angeles Lakers visit the New Orleans Pelicans in two of the six games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 600 words)


Sharks put win streak on line against Golden Knights

The Sharks will hope to extend their win streak to six games while closing the gap with the Pacific Division-leading Golden Knights when the teams meet in San Jose in one of the 10 games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)


Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

Asia Desk Editor: Peter Rutherford

Source :